Feelings, Life, Love, Relationships

What I should have told you

You left today.

You didn’t send a text, call or stop by to say goodbye.

You just left.

You were too much of a coward to end us yourself so you just went 3,000 miles away to send the message for you.

I fell in love with a coward.

I fell in love with a pretender.

Someone that disguised lies as the truth and finally unmasked them when you put your car in drive this morning.

You left someone behind that was going to love you till the end of time. You left someone that wanted your happiness more than their own. You left a girl who wouldn’t have hurt you the way others have.

You left me.

I wanted to love you. But instead, I hate you.

I hate how you left. I hate how you made me feel as a woman. I hate how “private” you were. I hate how stupid you made me. I hate that I ignored red flags for you. I hate that I questioned my worth because of you. I hate you for how you treated me.

You played me better than anyone has.

But in reality, you played yourself by playing me.

It makes me wonder what your point was. What was the point of you telling me you wanted to move in together or get married, or us having kids?

Why did you do this to me?

I will forever question these things until I can question you.

You never were proud to have me as yours. You were embarrassed to have a “big girl” right?

Well I’m embarrassed too.

Embarrassed that you had me and my family fooled. You even had them thinking this was.. real.

You had our friends thinking we were serious when it was just a one way street.

You are embarrassing.

And I hope whoever you left me for enjoys being treated like a princess for a month then ignored for the rest of the time.

You ended up just like your father.

A man that cowers and leaves.

The saying goes, the way they leave tells you everything.

And this sure told me a whole lot.

This was all fake.

You expect the same person who pushed you into the water to be the same person who keeps you from drowning and that’s the fucking problem.

Goodbye.

Leave a comment